Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Sushi Day: Appreciating the Beloved Asian Cuisine (Part Two of Two)

ONCEkids Wishes You a Happy Sushi Day!

If you have never before tried the delicious and addicting Asian dish, there is no better time to than on Sushi Day! 

The countless types and styles of sushi make it easy to find at least one sushi dish that will appeal to your taste buds. Since sushi has been loved and consumed by the people of Japan and China for hundreds of years, it is no surprise that over the years several different types of sushi have since emerged. The texture and taste of the different dishes comes from the varying fillings, toppings, and methods of preparation.

The first, Chirashizushi, consists of a bowl of sushi rice that is topped with sashimi and garnishes. Different cooked or uncooked ingredients may be added to the simple and easy-to-make dish depending on the chef or the specifications of the customer. 

The next type of sushi, called Inarizushi, varies depending on where in the world you are ordering it, but its basic ingredients include a pouch of fried tofu filled with sushi rice. There is a version of Inarizushi that also includes green beans, carrots, and gobo in addition to the rice- this version is specifically a Hawaiian specialty!

Has your family received a NookKindle or iPad this year?  Find Fujimini Adventure Series award-winning books here.  Great family-friendly gifts

Narezushi is the traditional form of sushi, which includes the fermentation process. This complicated but richly traditional process of preparation includes stuffing the skinned and gutted fish with salt, placing it in a wooden barrel, and leaving it there to allow the water seep out. Once six months have passed, the sushi is ready for consumption. Wow, that's dedication! 

The next type of sushi is Nigirizushi, or hand pressed sushi. This variation of sushi consists of a rectangular-shaped mound of sushi rice, with wasabi and a topping of fish draped over it. Typical topping fish include tuna, salmon, or other seafood such as eel or octopus. 

The second to last type of sushi is known as pressed sushi or boxed sushi, or in Japan, Oshizushi. This complex but delicious style of sushi consists of a block-shaped piece formed by a wooden mold, otherwise known as oshibako, lined with toppings and covered with sushi rice. The lid of the mold is then pressed down by the chef to create a compact box. The block is then removed and cut into bit sized pieces. This style of sushi derives from the Kansai region and is a specialty, as well as a favorite, of Osaka

The last type of sushi is the kind that you have most likely seen or heard of before, Makizushi, or rolled sushi. This sushi is typically wrapped in a seaweed covering and cut into six or eight pieces. It can also be wrapped with soy paper, cucumber, or shiso leaves. There are four different variations that have stemmed from this particular style of sushi. These include Futomaki, Hosomaki, Temaki, and Uramaki. These variations come from the different types of fillings and sizes of the Makizushi. 

To learn more about the cultural and diversity taught at Fujimini Island, please click here.

So make sure to pick up some sushi at your local grocery store or head down to an Asian style restaurant to try one of their most delicious dishes! Happy Sushi Eating! 

1 comment:

  1. Great post, I appreciate you and I would like to read your next post. Thanks for sharing this useful information.
    Sushi Roll Recipes
    Sushi Recipes
    Types of Sushi